Earl Grey and Rose Water Bundt Cake

29 Apr

Just a few weeks ago, newspaper headlines declared we were in drought, and decried the start of a hose pipe ban. ‘But how will I clean my block paved drive way witouth my fully-loaded penis-esque Karscher pressure washer?!’ demanded middle-aged men with middle-aged spread.

Fear not, hose-wealders. As if by magic – or by the power of that lesser known phenomenon, Sod’s Law – at the very mention of a hose pipe ban, the mighty sky retaliated by rounding up a gang of the greyest, densest, meanest clouds around, and heartily encouraging them to piss down upon us all for the best part of ten days.

Exploring a rainy - but still pretty - London

Now, I’m not particularly fond of pounding London’s uneven, puddle-laden pavements in (usually) porous shoes, wrestling with an umbrella determined to show off its jellyfish impression. But what I am fond of is having a perfect excuse to stay indoors, whack the heating up, and get in the kitchen – which is just what this rainy Sunday provided.

Now, don’t judge me, but I only tried Earl Grey tea for the first time a few months ago. (I KNOW). Now, I adore it; I have at least one every day at work and it always feels like a treat. It’s also perfect with a light and lovely piece of cake or a delicate biscuit (not that these are usually in abundance at work – for shame!).

Since my first taste, I’ve wanted to try Earl Grey in a cake, and since I had a bottle of rosewater that I was determined to bake with, too, I decided to bring them both together in a fancy floral experiment using my new bundt tin.

I am thrilled with the result; bundt tins make such a beautiful-looking cake- even before you do anything to the top! In my case, I decorated with my new favourite frosting (that’s a BIG deal, by the way): rose water glaze.

It’s just so gorgeous! I would describe the glaze as like a delicate, fancy version of a krispy kreme glaze – and since it was a bundt cake, I felt like I’d made myself a giant, classy krispy kreme. The best part about a bundt cake is that you use proportionally much less frosting because of the surface area, so it’s great if you don’t enjoy lots of sickly frosting – it’s probably less calories too..? A little like throwing deck chairs off the Titanic, I know, but god loves a trier…

Earl Grey and Rose Water Bundt Cake

Serves 12

Ingredients

  • 225 butter
  • 125 g caster sugar
  • 100g light muscovado sugar
  • 225g plain flour
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp essence of rose water
  • 3-4 earl grey tea bags, brewed with 100ml water to form a strong solution
  • 2 tbsp lemon yoghurt (plain will do w/a few drops of lemon juice)
  • pinch of salt

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees (fan)/gas mark 4. Grease a bundt tin with butter.
  2. Cream the butter and sugar together. Whisk in the eggs one by one, then add the yoghurt, rosewater and most of tea solution – saving a tablespoon or so for the glaze.
  3. Sift and fold in the flour, baking powder, and saly until thoroughly combined.
  4. Distribute evenly into the bundt tin, and smooth around the top with a spatula.
  5. Bake in the middle of the oven for 25 minutes, or until a skewer comes out clean. NB – the colour on the side you will see in the oven will be lighter of the colour of the ‘top’ when it’s flipped, so don’t worry if it’s not golden brown!

For the rose water glaze

  • 120g icing sugar
  • 2 tbsp rose water
  • few drops of the earl grey solution
  1. Sift the icing sugar into a bowl
  2. Add a the rose water and tea, and mix together thoroughly with a fork until you have a reasonably thick glaze.
  3. Once the cake has cooled, use a tablespoon to drizzle the glaze over the cake in lines or criss-crosses to finish.
  4. Serve with a smug smile as you show-off an effortlessly pretty cake!

PS – Do you like my rather sweet table cloth?I I picked up two tea towels reduced to £1.50 in paperchase and thought they were too lovely to wipe the plates with, et voila!

PPS – What other recipes do you find work with with a bundt tin? I’d love to use it more!

10 Responses to “Earl Grey and Rose Water Bundt Cake”

  1. lilmssquirrel April 29, 2012 at 21:42 #

    Looks amazing – I’ve always wanted to have a go at a bundt. And I love your cake stand – v jealous as I’d been searching for a vintage one.

    This looks like another great recipe for me to try for my donation to my lovely cousin’s wedding festival in the summer.

    But best of all is the pic of St Pauls. Makes me homesick for London x

    • Laura @ cakeandfeminism April 29, 2012 at 21:45 #

      Aw thank you! It was a gift from my boyfriend’s mam- she reckons she has even more of them stashed in her garage somewhere, but never uses ‘em! I’m building up something of a collection :-)

      Ooh I think it’d be lovely for a summer wedding; nice and light and floral! London misses you too…x

  2. roswensian April 29, 2012 at 22:20 #

    As you’ve probably noticed I am a MASSIVE fan of a Bundt – because you don’t need to be too neat with them and they look exciting.

    This sounds absolutely indulgent and will have be tried.

    • Laura @ cakeandfeminism April 30, 2012 at 07:30 #

      They also just turn out looking perfect without you having to be perfect; my ideal cake!!

      What are your fave bundt recipes lovely? X

      • roswensian April 30, 2012 at 08:21 #

        I think the Zebra Bundt may have instantly gone to the top… recipe to follow later today hopefully.

  3. dollybakes April 29, 2012 at 22:21 #

    I love making bundts! Bravo lady x

  4. aroundtheworldin80bakes April 30, 2012 at 08:51 #

    I absolutely love this cake! What a great idea for rose water. I have some left from my baklava making that I need to use up so I’m book marking your recipe now :) I bake everything I possibly can in my bundt tin. best £5 I spent in john Lewis sale! I’ve made a Jamaican black in it most recently which took bit of persuading to remove it from the tin!

    • Laura @ cakeandfeminism April 30, 2012 at 12:39 #

      I saw your Jamaican black cake actually! Sounded really unusual and incredibly boozy! Bet my b/f would love it :)

      Hope you enjoy it if you do get round to giving it a go; I’m totally in love with the rose water glaze and think it would work for loads of different cakes – pistachio loaf or lavender bisuits too maybe!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Best of the Foodie Blogs: Ten at Ten (17) | Foodies 100 - May 2, 2012

    [...] we’re back to cake with another twitter suggestion – a yummy looking Earl Grey and Rose Water Bundt Cake from Cake and Feminism. Laura, who made the cake, assures me it was as delicious as it looks and [...]

  2. Ten essential recipes for afternoon tea | Foodies 100 - June 27, 2014

    […] so to the sweet treats. I’ll kick off our sophisticated dining with an earl grey and rosewater bundt cake from Cake and Feminism. I selected this not solely because of its tea connections but because you […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers

